Tokyo: last days

On my third day in Tokyo, I went to a sumo watching tour organized by the hostel I stayed at. I’ve been lucky with the dates, as the sumo tournaments only take place in January, May and September in Tokyo. I might have been late to see the cherry blossom in Japan but hey, I was on time to see two… ehm… corpulent! guys in thongs fighting against each other.

The Ryogoku stadium is quite impressive, even if you see it from the second floor (cheapest seats):

image

It’s hard to understand why people would pay more to be in the front rows, as the chances of having a sumo wrestler falling on you are quite high there. It must be funny to have a 150 kg man landing on you.

I was surprised to see that there were many sumo wrestlers from outside Japan. Egypt, Brazil, Bulgaria, Mongolia… No one from Spain, though.

After seeing a couple of fights, I understood the rules: the first one to fall on the floor or to put a foot outside of the white circle loses. Quite simple. Look, the one on the right just lost:

image

Sumo is definitely something to see if you are in the right dates in Japan!

Then on my last day, I decided to do somehting cheap and relaxing: a visit to the Meiji Shrine.

image

This shrine is located in a park in Shibuya which gives you the impression that you are walking in a forest far away in the countryside, when actually you are just 20 minutes away from the famous Shibuya crossing. This temple is less crowded than Senso-ji and I find the location much nicer. And there are quite big Torii gates to see:

image

Oh, I had promised to write about the toilets. This is a picture I took of the ones at the Ryogoku Stadium:

image

There are many cleaning options that I didn’t dare to try because it was all written in Japanese, so I just searched for the flush sign. On the right you can see a loud-speaker where you can play an artificial flushing sound, I guess it’s for those people who don’t enjoy silence while they are in the toilet. I kept pressing the button for fun, it was just cool.

In the last post I had mentioned my frustration about not seeing Mount Fuji from the Bunkyo Tower. Yesterday I was lucky:

image
On the Shinkansen train from Tokyo to Kyoto, if you sit on the right side and look carefully through the window around 40 minutes after departing from Tokyo, you might spot Mount Fuji. It’s just beautiful and hypnotic, I couldn’t stop looking at it.

Next post, Kyoto.

Leave a Reply

