Las Vegas and Grand Canyon

It’s been a while! I’m now more focused on travelling and enjoying my time than on writing. But here is a brief summary of my first days in the USA.

First, I’ll let you know that if you are a jobless Spanish girl travelling alone and your pockets aren’t filled with american dollars (it doesn’t matter if you have 3 credit cards, cash is the only important thing), then maybe you won’t be warmly welcomed at the border. After landing in Las Vegas, I was sent to a special room for suspicious immigrants and had to explain an immigration officer for around 15 minutes what my exact travel plans were, how much money I had in the bank, how much money I had already spent on my trips, what I did in my job back in the time when I was working, how it was possible that I had only spent 1000 euros in my three weeks in Mexico, why I wanted to travel so much, why I was staying in a hostel instead of a hotel, etc, etc… Nice way of greeting a foreigner! But eventually I made it through the border and now I have another funny story to tell about my travels.

As I was still not feeling great after Mexico City, the main thing I did in Las Vegas was taking a day trip to see the Grand Canyon. Have a look at the pictures:

image

image

Even with the best camera of the market, it wouldn’t be possible to show the greatness of this landscape. I spent 2 hours walking the route from Mather Point to Bright Angel Lodge (2 miles) with my neck turned to the right just to try to catch every detail of the Grand Canyon. It was so beautiful that it actually looked fake.

So, if you’re ever in Las Vegas or close to it, you really should try to book a tour or rent a car and go to see this. The pictures here are from the South Rim, which was the cheapest tour I could find but, at the same time, the one with the best internet reviews. I booked mine through my hostel and the price was 99 USD (~71 EUR), including pick up and drop off at accomodation, some stops to see the Hoover Dam and a little bit of the Route 66, snacks for breakfast, a sandwich for lunch (vegetarian and vegan options available) and unlimited supply of water. Yes, a little bit expensive, but totally worth it!

Regarding my veganism in Las Vegas: I cooked at the hostel, end of the story. I really want to avoid eating out in the USA because it can get very expensive. And there are canned beans, rice, vegetables and fruit in every supermarket I’ve been to, so I don’t have any trouble with getting my nutrients.

Next stop, San Francisco.

Leave a Reply

