Mexico City: what to do

Let’s start with what you should be prepared for when coming to Mexico City.

First, altitude sickness. Due to the fact that Mexico City lies 2,240 meters (7,350 ft) above the sea level, it is quite common for travellers to experience headache and general fatigue in their first days in the city. This can ruin your trip if, like me, you are only planning to stay a few days.

Second, earthquakes. Friday morning I was in the lift with my hostel roomate when I noticed it was starting to move from side to side.

– How weird, this lift moves like, you know, a lot – I told her

Then the doors miraculously opened at our floor and a hostel worker told us to get immediately out of the lift and stay outside of the building.

– It was not the lift, it was the earth – I finally understood.

Sometimes it takes me a while to process new information. I’m blonde.

Luckily, it was a minor earthquake, just 7.2 in the Richter scale, and no one in Mexico was injured. If you want to have an idea of what it was like, take a look at the short video I recorded where you can se the dancing lamps at the entrance of the hostel:

And now, this is what I managed to do despite sicknesses and earthquakes:

– Monumento a la Revolución (Monument to the Revolution). I visited it at sunset, when there is a light show in the fountains in front of it:

image

– Palacio de Bellas Artes (Palace of Fine Art). Not only the outside is stunning, the inside is also worth the visit. There are usually some exhibitions in the museum inside, I saw one of Picasso and another one of Robert Doisneau.

image

– Chapultepec park. Surrounded by so many high buildings, it reminded me of Central Park. Except for the fact that there were a lot of kids, kids, kiiiids everywhere.
image

– National Museum of Anthropology. Close to Chapultepec park, there are lots of things about the history of Mexico to learn from and a big central square inside where you can sit and relax in the shadow if you suffer an overdose of culture:

image

When I go to museums, somehow, I enjoy taking pictures of weird looking things/animals. Look at the cute babies I found here:

image

image

image
image

image

– Torre Latinoamericana. I really liked this building, it reminded me of the Empire State and you can see it from almost everywhere in the city center. I had planned to go up to the top to have a look at the panoramic view but, after a 7.2 earthquake? No thanks.
image

My tour to Teotihuacan, on the next post.

Leave a Reply

