Morelia, Janitzio and Pátzcuaro

Wifi is working, cellphone is charging, head is freezing… yes, I’m back on the road!

On Friday afternoon I arrived to Morelia. The only word that came to my mind when I entered my room in the hostel I stayed at was creepy. An old house, bad lighting, a big room with four beds for me alone because there were almost no other guests, every kind of insect making every kind of noise outside of the window… But it was cheap and, as we say in Spain, sarna con gusto no pica. And the breakfast was quite vegan! Crudivegan actually!
image

Bananas, orange, watermelon, pinneaple… That’s a good way to start the day. There was also bread, but I had the feeling it had been made with milk. I didn’t bore to ask, because I would only trust the answer if I was speaking directly to the person who cooked it, and this was not the case. This is how I proceed with bread:

– If it looks fluffy and too white, it might have milk
– If it looks shiny and too yellow, it might have egg
– Else, eat it

This is only when I’m travelling or eating out and I’m very very hungry. Else, I don’t usually eat bread. Too much bread makes me look pregnant and that’s not cute.

On Saturday, I wandered around Morelia. But first, lunchtime:

image

This is what I ate in a vegetarian restaurant, Govinda’s (Av Madero Oriente 549). I asked like five times and the waitress told me they use no milk or eggs, so I was happy. And all that for just 47 MXN (~2.6 EUR, 3.6 USD). But remember that in Mexico you should always leave a tip of at least 10% in restaurants!

Afterwards, I went to see the acqueduct of Morelia:

image

Earlier in the morning I had found out that every Saturday there is a firework show in front of the cathedral at exactly 20:45. It was nice to see, nothing spectacular, but nice to see:

image

And Sunday I met my friend E. from Morelia, who took me on a day trip. First, we went to see Janitzio Island:

image

I think the most beautiful part of going to Janitzio is actually the trip. You travel by boat to the island and see it getting closer and closer while some Mexican musicians play Mexican songs.

Just before arriving to the island, there were some fishermen using nets with a butterfly shape typical from here. I curse the day I decided not to bring a decent camera with me on this trip:

image

I can’t like any activity that implies killing animals, but nowadays, it’s not only fish what this men are looking for. They approched our boat and asked every passenger for some coins. And well, I don’t find fishing tourists so bad.

In the island there are, again, as in every single town in Mexico, many handicraft shops. On the highest point, you can find a big statue of José María Morelos, a hero of the Mexican War of Independence (Wikipedia, what would I do without you?).

image

Inside this statue, the walls are painted with murals depicting the life and adventures of Morelos. You can see them while going up some stairs until his right hand-viewpoint while getting dizzy. Great!

I forgot to mention, on the way to the island we saw a cow looking at us and probably thinking Moooh, more tourists

image

I just get too excited with every animal I see, sorry.

In the afternoon, it was time for Pátzcuaro, a little town near the island we had visited. One special thing about this town is that every building has to be painted in black, white and red, like this courtyard:

image

No more colours are allowed, so it’s easy to get lost in the streets because all the buildings look exactly the same.

For lunch, we were in a restaurant on the main square where I had a salad with some fried vegetables:

image

Just for 62 MXN (3.4 EUR, 4.8 USD) including a bottle of water. Cheap cheap cheap.

Then we went for a walk in the city. It was Sunday, and also the begin of the Holy Week, so it was quite crowded. We also had the chance to see some typical dances of the region:

And then back home hostel to pack for today. Morelia is over, see you on the next post!

Leave a Reply

